Depart: 10 am OCH
Arrive: 1030 am Roe Park Resort, Limavady - coffee/scones (formerly Raddison Blue)
Arrive: 1130 am Broighter Gold, Limavady (Rapeseed oil farm producers) 2012 opened pressing room as part of a new and exciting tourism trail in Northern Ireland. This initiative is known as ÉCONOMUSÉE, or working museum, and was founded in Quebec in Canada. Each ÉCONOMUSÉE offers a unique visitor experience, inviting tourists to watch artisans at work, learn about the history of their craft and the heritage of the traditional skills. Goods to purchase!
Arrive: 1/1.30 pm Heaney Centre, Bellaghy
Seamus Heaney HomePlace: dedicated to the life and work of one of Ireland’s greatest writers with a stunning interactive exhibition, packed with personal stories, images and artefacts.
Arrive: 3pm Ballyscallion Park, Bellaghy Ballyscullion House refers to two country houses built for the Hervey family, close to Lough Beg at north-west corner of Lough Neagh.The first Ballyscullion House, sometimes called "Bishop's Folly", was a large house intended for Frederick Hervey, 4th Earl of Bristol and Bishop of Derry. Construction began in 1787 but it was not completed when he died in Italy in 1803. His heir decided to live at his other Irish house, Downhill House, also in County Londonderry, and the partially built Ballyscullion House was demolished by 1825. A second and much smaller Ballyscullion House was built in 1840 for Admiral Sir Henry William Bruce, and is now owned by the Mulholland family.
POSSIBILITY OF "HIGH TEA" to conclude at Ballyscullion (tbc)
This is the Blog for Ballymoney U3A. Keep up-to-date here with local events.